Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award in USA 2021
USA Scholarships

Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award in USA 2021

The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) is taking applications for the Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award for Female Journalists in the United States in 2021.

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was established to revere the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photojournalist and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award recipient Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014). Through this Award, the IWMF commemorates the daring work of women photojournalists like Anja. The Award acknowledges the significance of visual journalistic work that motivates us to take action and forces us to better comprehend the world. Established in 2014 with a $1 million gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, the Award will be awarded yearly to a woman photojournalist whose work mirrors courage and devotion, as Anja’s does.

Niedringhaus started full-time work as a photojournalist in 1990 when she became a member of the European Pressphoto Agency (EPA) in Frankfurt, Germany. One of her first projects for EPA was covering the war in the Balkans, where journalists were usually targeted by Bosnian Serb forces. Niedringhaus was hit in her flak jacket by a sniper’s bullet on her first day in Sarajevo. She remained in the region for ten years, covering Albania, Croatia, Bosnia, Macedonia, Kosovo, and Serbia and baring herself to the perils of civil war.

Worth of Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award

The Award beneficiary will be publicly recognized, have her work showcased, and obtain a cash prize of $20,000.

Eligibility for Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award

  • Full-time journalists.
  • Journalism has to be a candidate’s main vocation.
  • Both freelance journalists and those linked with media establishments are qualified.
  • Identify as women.

Additional Requirements for the Contest:

  • The photographer(s) has to be the author of the photos presented in her/their name.
  • The photographer, or the agent or delegate entering on their behalf, has to be the copyright holder or have been permitted by the copyright holder to present the pictures.
  • The IWMF retains the right to ask finalists or the beneficiary for the RAW, or original camera files taken directly by the camera, to be handed in for review if the submission advances to last rounds of judging. Photographers have to be open and transparent about the whole process through which their photos are made and be responsible to the IWMF for their practice.
  • Photos should not be edited in any way, with the exception of basic color and contrast correction, and also minor lightness and darkness adjustments. Digitally enriched or edited photographs, beyond the basics noted above, are not acceptable. The IWMF values genuineness and misleading images will be disqualified.


  • Photographers should not intentionally adjust the scene they snap by re-enacting or staging events and have to make sure the editing offers an accurate and fair representation of the photograph’s context.
  • The photographer should not have paid their subject(s), either in goods or money, or pledge of favour or influence.
  • Each photo presented in a series of photographs has to be supplemented by a caption that is complete and accurate, adequate to convey the situations in which each photograph was taken, and comprise the date created and geographic location. Disguising or falsifying the origin of the content gives reason for disqualification.
  • Each photograph should not, in the sole and unrestricted discretion of the IWMF, contain offensive or inappropriate content.
  • Watermarks are not accepted.

Very Important

The IWMF’s Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award abides by the NPPA’s code of ethics.

How to Apply for Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award

  • Register for a VISURA Basic/Free, Standard, Plus, Prime or Guild membership account to put in your work for consideration.
  • Each nomination and application has to comprise candidate informationwork samples comprised of a series of 12 photographs, and a candidate/nomination statement.

Application Deadline

  • June 14, 2021

Visit here for more details and to apply

Not interested in Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award? See other USA Scholarships here